My child wants to play guitar.

childerstodd

My child wants to play guitar.

Postby childerstodd » Wed Mar 18, 2015 12:56 pm

Hi, I am a beginning banjo player and new to this forum. I am using the "Get Rolling" dvd and it is very helpful. Thanks to Pete for all the great training material. I love the fact that he is positive and keeps things simple. I hope it is ok that I post this question in this category. My 10 year old has expressed an interest in learning guitar. Does anyone know of any methods such as Pete's to learn guitar, or can his method be applied to these instruments? For instance just learning the chords and a basic strum so they can play along with me as I learn, and so we can go to jams together. I can't afford lessons so something online or dvd format would be great. I know Pete doesn't teach guitar I was just wanting to find a method like his that would be suited for guitar for a total beginner that would make "the first rung of the ladder close to the ground."
Thanks,
Todd

Pete

Re: My child wants to play guitar.

Postby Pete » Tue Apr 07, 2015 4:38 pm

My 10 year old has expressed an interest in learning guitar. Does anyone know of any methods such as Pete's to learn guitar, or can his method be applied to these instruments? For instance just learning the chords and a basic strum so they can play along with me as I learn, and so we can go to jams together. I can't afford lessons so something online or dvd format would be great. I know Pete doesn't teach guitar I was just wanting to find a method like his that would be suited for guitar for a total beginner that would make "the first rung of the ladder close to the ground."
Thanks,

Todd,

Glad to answer this question, sorry for the delay.